the Rift

[Art] Snap's Rules of Design

Harley Posts: N/A
Unregistered
:: :: ::
Hi there!
I'm Snap.
I am not a formal art student by any means, I am self-taught, still learning, and art is a just a passion of mine that occasionally brings in money.
But looking around the forum, I think some people need a little help with their graphics and designs.
There isn't necessarily a right or wrong way to do things, nor are there any secret tips that make you an amazing artist. But there are some rules of thumb that you should keep in mind.

This tutorial will range from templates to character design.
I hope nobody minds if I tag their characters. I am not naming and shaming bad designs, I will only use examples to demonstrate my points. So if your character or work is featured in this thread it's a good thing! [sub](But I will of course remove your work at your request)[/sub]

I can't teach you how to draw a horse since I struggle with them myself but I am happy to offer critique and dig up tutorials for you. I'm not a master of drawing but I am the master of google.

Again, disclaimer, these are not hard and fast rules, they merely something to consider while you work and they will not apply to every picture.

CONTRAST
This is a very important rule for websites, especially forums like this where there is a lot of text to read.
The higher the contrast between a symbol and its background, the more it stands out and the easier it is to read.
[Image: contrast.jpg]
If there is not enough contrast, it makes the text difficult to read. I have found on many forums I've had to highlight the text because the template was hurting my eyes.

Consider this spectrum of 'Lightness':
[Image: horton7_fig02.jpg]