the Rift

[PRIVATE] Once Upon A Time, There Was A Princess

Quinn Posts: N/A
Unregistered
:: :: ::

Things change, do they not?

One day I am a trained soldier for hire and the next, I am seeking refuge in a cave. All that I have learned in my eight years on this earth, is forgotten, and I have no idea what to do next. My body is acing for the sun, while my heart is screaming for a new life. And then, there is my mind; it has gone soft as a sponge in water. I used to be able to take harsh words and even mockery, but now.. Now I soak up every word and keep them close. What happened? Am I such a lousy warrior that I can't even handle a few days in a cave? Or have I just started to live my life, free of a general and any other that rule over me and my time?

I have no answer to the questions, nor will I ever be. I am at a crossroad and now is the time to choose which road I will follow. It all used to be so easy; just follow the orders and do what you are told. How can anyone expect me to just walk away from that? I need someone to tell me what to do, where to go and what to do with my life. Give me a reason to breathe!

These thoughts haunts me as I walk through the cave, throwing a glance around every time I pass a horse or an entrance. The hide is still on me, but the bear's head hang limp at my neck. It's not cold or funny enought to scare the shit out of people, not yet.

With nothing else to do, my legs carries me to the wall-room, as if trying to make sense of the pictures will make this better. It won't, so I don't know why I even bother. A sight escapes my throat as I watch the foreign story unfold in front of me. Somehow, it reminds me of a wall back home. Someone, I don't remember who, told me the story behind one of the horses carved in stone. I began to whisper it, as a comfort myself, quiet at first so I did not forget my words;